The 2017 Manward Summer Reading List

It’s perhaps the most rewarding form of exercise.

Like lifting a stack of weights sharpens our biceps, reading good books exercises the most powerful muscle in our body… our mind.

But what to read next?

There are hundreds of thousands of new titles published annually (300,000-plus in the U.S. alone). To read even a single year’s offerings over a lifetime would be impossible.

It’s a classic conundrum. As the essayist Joseph Joubert once wrote…

The worst thing about new books is that they keep us from reading the old ones.

To help narrow your focus, we’ve hand-picked 10 titles that fit the ideas and themes we’ve been covering here. It’s the official Manward summer reading list (complete with links to learn more).

  • A History of the Future: A World Made by Hand Novel by James Howard Kuntsler (author site)
  • Ego Is the Enemy by Ryan Holiday (author site)
  • Misbehaving: The Making of Behavioral Economics by Richard Thaler (author site)
  • The Way of Men by Jack Donovan (author site)
  • The Courage to Act: A Memoir of a Crisis and Its Aftermath by Ben Bernanke (author site)
  • The Meat Racket: The Secret Takeover of America’s Food Business by Christopher Leonard (author site)
  • Start with Why: How Great Leaders Inspire Everyone to Take Action by Simon Sinek (author site)
  • Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis by J.D. Vance (author site)
  • The Miracle Morning: The Not-So-Obvious Secret Guaranteed to Transform Your Life by Hal Elrod (author site)
  • Raising Men: Lessons Navy SEALs Learned from Their Training and Taught to Their Sons by Eric Davis (author site)

Our goal with this list – as with all things Manward – is to help make you a better man.

Good books can reshape your mind in countless ways. Read all 10 of the titles on our summer reading list and there’s no doubt you’ll be a stronger leader… a smarter investor… and a more productive individual all around.

Like we said, reading is the ultimate exercise. Just take it from one of the most famous doctors of all time…

The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.” – Dr. Seuss

Or, as we’d put it… a man who doesn’t read doesn’t succeed.

Keep exercising your mind.

The No. 1 Reason the Rich Are Unhappy

Technology has put more choices than ever at our fingertips. It’s a trend with some surprisingly dangerous consequences.

The Latest Sign of Third World America

More than a dozen are dead in San Diego. The cause? A sudden outbreak of hepatitis A. But the story only gets worse from here...

Answers to Your Questions on Free-Market Medicine

We received an overwhelming response to our piece on the direct primary care (DPC) model. Here we address your questions on the subject...